top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNaomi Willett

My West End Wishlist

So, Boris Johnson has just announced more places to open on July 4th. Pubs! Cinemas! Hairdressers! Libraries, museums! And theatres and concert halls! But wait, guidelines dictates they can't put any live performances on. So, while I'm mourning my hopes and dreams of being able to see a show any time soon I thought I'd put together my ultimate and completely self-serving wish list of shows I want to come (or come back) to London.


Moulin Rouge!


Is this a cop out? Maybe. Since Moulin Rouge is already confirmed to be coming to the Piccadilly Theatre in 2021 maybe it doesn't really belong on this list. But it's my list and I make the rules so here it is. Am I saying Aaron Tveit should transfer over with the show? Well, I'm not not saying that.


Based on the Baz Luhrmann film of the same name, Moulin Rouge! follows songwriter Christian who travels to Paris and falls hopelessly in love with the dancer and courtesan Satine. The show features a grand total of 70 songs and includes music from the original film and twists on newer pop singles.


I was lucky enough to see it on Broadway last year and it's so much fun to watch as an audience member. The set design (featuring moving windmill and very large elephant) is spectacular in every sense of the word and is enough of a reason to add it to my list.


Hadestown


Is this also a cop out? I'd say no. Yes, Hadestown has been to London before but it was at the National Theatre so technically I think it deserves an official West End run (and a couple of Olivier nominations).


The show is based on the Greek myth of Orpheus and Eurydice, set in a Great Depression inspired post apocalyptic setting featuring a mix of music styles from folk to jazz. It's beautifully sung and the set design is really something to gasp at.


I actually saw Hadestown when it was at the National and it blew me away, it was so good I bought a ticket for three days later (I managed to grab the second to last one left!). There have been quite a few changes to the Broadway production compared to the version I saw and so I think it should come back so we can all see it again, it's only fair.


Since it swept the Tonys last year and has already announced a US tour, I think this is the most realistic aspiration on my list. Maybe the world I dream about will be the one we live in now.



Next to Normal


I'd say this is fairly obvious. Next to Normal became big over ten years ago now. And the UK has never seen a version! This is straight up unfair, in my opinion.


In case you don't know about this musical, the show centres on a mother who is struggling with mental illness and the effects this has on her family. I'm not going to say much more than that because you NEED to listen to this cast album to really get a picture of it.


The best part about this show is I think it would work great in a smaller, more intimate place, maybe The Other Palace, The Boulevard or even The Arts?


Ghost Quartet


I know, I know. It was at The Boulevard last year! But it was such a limited run, I seriously need to see it again and I think everyone who missed it should get a chance too. And so Ghost Quartet makes the wishlist.


I'm not going to go into the plot. Honestly it's a bit too complex for me to type out. There are four actors who each play multiple characters and play all the instruments at the same time.


This show is the type of thing that makes me excited about theatre. It's amazingly unique and gripping, the songs are beautiful. It has hilarious songs that include free whiskey and audience participation via egg shakers but also real moments of humanity. The song "Hero", was so breathtaking my mum whispered "wow", when it had finished.


I wish this small production had more of a run, more of a chance. I wish it had grown a cult following and mega popularity like Six or Heathers did. (And that's not just because I love anything set in an intimate theatre in the round).


Blood Brothers


Did you ever hear the story on the Johnstone twins? I think anyone who did GCSE drama in the UK will be familiar with Blood Brothers. And maybe you'll say, "Naomi! It was on the West End for 24 years! Do you really think it should go back?" and to that I'd say, "Yes."

Despite being one of the longest running shows in England I'd say Blood Brothers is horrendously slept on, it deserves more hype.


The story focuses on twins, Mickey and Eddie, who are separated at birth. One is adopted and raised by a wealthy family, while the other stays with his struggling mother. It looks at nature vs nurture and the issues of class within Britain.


I know it's not to everyone's taste, maybe you don't like spending your Saturday evenings crying over tragic fictional events where all the characters are victims of circumstance. I however, can't get enough of it. Give me another 24 years!



Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812


So good it deserves two photos, my final addition to the West End would be Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812.


If this photo of the set doesn't convince you I really don't know what to tell you (look at it!!!!).


So this show is based on a 70-page segment from War and Peace. It follows Natasha's affair with Anatole and Pierre's search for meaning in his life. It's beautifully creative in it's set, music and costume design. The show is really unlike anything else in contemporary theatre and makes for a unique experience for audiences. I think it would be a thrilling addition to the West End.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page